Memorial Day Roundup!

You know what’s kinda sad? Listening to the radio this morning NPR was doing some snippets talking to various people who serve (or have served) here in the US and I was suddenly struck at how “Memorial Day” had no real meaning to me other than “it’s a 3 day weekend”. I can’t blame the wash of ridiculous food holidays that now exist and fill every single day, I can’t blame commercials where hot dogs march on a grill waiving flags (this might not exist but just be a dream I had), I can only blame my own self-absorption into my own affairs. Which shouldn’t be the case. My Dad served. Even though he doesn’t talk about it I know he did. My Dad also likes a stiff drink, or half a dozen beers (depends on the day), so this weekend I am being mindful of what the holiday means. I’m also offering up some suggestions for all the dads, the moms, the relatives, friends and those we don’t know, and for all of us taking the time to sit back and enjoy a drink with one another as we take some time off.

The Pineapple Hop Cocktail // stirandstrain.com

The Pineapple Hop

Steak Island Cocktails // stirandstrain.com

Steak Island Cocktail

Grilled Summer Fruit Cachaça Smash Cocktail // stirandstrain.com

Grilled Summer Fruit Cachaça Smash Cocktail

peach basil sorbet and saison beerfloat // stirandstrain.com

Peach Basil Sorbet and Saison Beerfloat

Low Rent Cocktail of the Month: Fireball Cider // stirandstrain.com

And… Fireball Cider (because Dad likes it)

Standard

Leave a Reply

